top of page
Writer's pictureLeticia Pires

How ANXIETY changed my life forever...



Hi. My name is Leticia and I suffer from generalized anxiety disorder. But it was not always like this. I was always a very happy child, I talked to everyone, very smiling, very social, fun and dreamy. I was always a good student, I loved my school from day one. I never felt anxious - I didn't even know how lucky I was. Until everything changed. At age 15 I began to feel anxious. Nervous. Daily. It was harder and harder to be in school, although I liked to study. I still do. I didn't recognize myself. I fought daily with my emotions. until they won. I started missing one class, two classes, a whole day of classes. I started missing days and weeks. I couldn't catch the bus with my friends in the morning. I screamed and cried that I didn't want to go, though I did. Hyperventilated to mental collapse. And I, such a hardworking and demanding girl with myself and my studies ... I left school. Because I couldn't write my name anymore, I didn't remember daily basic things. Anxiety was beginning to have consequences that I couldn't handle. It stirred my whole digestive system, every time an anxiety episode started, my vision blurred and I started shaking my hands a lot and lost dexterity. I was completely dependent on who surrounded me. so I gave up. These words “I gave up” weighed on my soul and heart for years. Do you know what was harder for me at this point? It wasn't about having to look in the mirror every day and face what was happening to me, but rather having to constantly respond to people who purged me what year I was in, what I studied. And having to give my carefully crafted answer: “I am not studying right now, because I have a disease that doesn’t allow me to do it.” People were horrified and started to think of the worst. What THEY THINK it is the worst.

"So what do you have, honey?" - "Anxiety disorder, severe". Their faces changed completely. They were no longer horrified, and they still added: “Oh dear, you have to go out more, clear your head. this will pass.” I felt so bad hearing these words. Again and again and again. Socializing with outsiders gave me so much anxiety because I knew that inevitably I would have to answer these questions. Besides having to deal with the tremendous disappointment I had of myself I also had to deal with the disappointment of others.

Anxiety was already preventing me from being social, but now I was becoming unwilling to be. I felt judged despite knowing that people didn't do it on purpose. I felt ashamed to eat in front of people, because first, I can't stay for more than 1 hour at the table because I get very impatient and it's hard to control and hide my anxiety for so long, and because I drop the silverware from my hands and I don't seem to know how to cut the meat because of the lack of dexterity in my hands. It's hard to feel like a child that needs help but I don't want to ask for it because I'm ashamed.

And so I spend my days among these hardships, thoughts, and wild emotions without any control.


But let me explain what this disorder does to me daily. My days starts late, not because I'm lazy and want to sleep in, but because of my disorder I suffer from insomnia. I can't sleep soundly like most people, and I wake up constantly, my mind never stops, no matter how hard I ask it to stop and i also suffer from body aches because I'm always tense. I spend my days without the strength to do anything, without leaving my house, thinking, constantly thinking about my life and my future. Having anxiety episodes and trying to deal with them. I don’t do this on purpose. It is unconscious. my head is always running fast, thinking of everything and anything else. what happened, what may or may not happen. constantly worried about everything. EVERYTHING. ALL THE TIME. For example, I spend 4 days thinking that on the weekend I will go out. Not because I'm excited, but because for me it’s painful. The whole process of getting dressed up, how are we going to get there, thinking about who's going to be there, what we're going to talk about, how I'm going to be hiding my anxiety, how long I'm going to be out of my house, what time I'll arrive home. This EVERY SINGLE HOUR of the day, for FOUR DAYS. This gives me a lot of anxiety. My mind and body are exhausted and sick when the weekend arrives. Most of the times, it’s easier to not go. To spare me from all of this.


I don't work or study, for as many attempts I've ever made.

I was hired. I worked. But not for long. In some jobs I've worked so shortly that I can't consider putting in my C.V. (the last one? 9 days). But the thing is, I’m good at what I'm doing at that job. But I just can’t keep it going. I give up, because it’s too much for my head and my body. I'm great at hiding my problem until I have a big anxiety attack and I'm not leaving home anymore. I won't go to work. I won't go out with my friends for a coffee. I will not go out with my boyfriend, I will not leave the house gate anymore. I'll have to lie, saying I'm sick and that's why I can't leave. Because nobody understands. Not because they don't want to understand (most of the time they do) but because only those who go through it, knows how it’s like. Let's face it, there are no visible symptoms, no one believes in your disorder. "These are things in your head. You need to go out, get some air, unwind." ; "you are crazy, you are seeking attention". Really seeking attention? Do you think I want to look crazy? I have a life. I have dreams and goals. But this was all paused for 8 years and going. This disease has been punishing me for 8 years. That forbids me to live for 8 years. It's not for lack of treatments. I've been to 3 different psychologists, psychiatrist, unconventional therapist. I've taken a lot of different medications, from pills that get you completely drugged to be able to sleep to antidepressants that deprive you of all your emotions. If you were already feeling helpless now you feel empty. Feeling nothing. Unwilling for nothing. Even unwilling to be with the person you love the most. But the hardest thing is still not being understood and being judged by people who do not understand and do not try to understand. People who know you, who see firsthand what you suffer daily. It really hurts. It opens a big wound, because if we already feel bad that we have this disease, because we can't explain well what we feel, we don't know why we feel this way, we don't know what we can do to improve the situation and people open the wound even more, making fun, alleviating the problem, trampling on the little self-esteem we have left. It hurts...

Imagine that you have a serious illness and you don't know it and you go to the doctor and the doctor does the proper tests and diagnoses you with a serious illness. Very sad and apprehensive about the reaction of the people you love the most and those around you, you are going to tell them what is going on. "I went to the doctor and I was diagnosed with a serious illness" and your dearest people react by saying "Oh! you have nothing! Those are things you put on your head! That’s crazy, you are losing your mind" How would you feel? Hard to believe right? So, you go to the doctor, get tested and it says you're sick but people don't believe it! how is it possible? Well, this is the case with most people who suffer from psychological problems. 'Cause if you don't see it, it doesn't exist. Because if there are no symptoms, there can be no disease.

People who used to be close told me things like: "She is crazy! She doesn't want to work! Living at the expense of her husband is what she wants! she is lazy!" Even telling my husband that if he wants he can leave me because they will help him do it Of course we don't talk to this people anymore, for obvious reasons. It’s hard to hear and comes to a point that after so many years of suffering, a person cannot swallow it anymore. And we start stamping our feet. Facing it and not letting us feel down. Because it's already enough everything we go through every day. It needs to stop!



And so the days go by with the people who support us daily. That don't charge us for not having a "normal" life. That put a smile on our face when the only thing we want to do is cry. It's hard to live life without knowing what tomorrow will be like. Will I be able to work? To go out with my friends or my husband? And on the hardest days: leaving home?

It's a daily fight and I can't give up. Never. This monster will not win. You can go on taking some pleasures from my life, but you will never take away my happiness. Because my happiness is the people around me. It's the small and big things I can achieve even though I think I can't. It's a mere walk I thought I couldn't do. And I will continue to fight, no matter how much I want to give up. Giving up on trying to solve the problem. Throughout this fight, I want to help people understand what this is. What is anxiety. What it does to a person. So that people are more understanding and avoid certain words, certain questions and know what to say and what to do.



This is me

A person who suffers from generalized anxiety disorder but can not be defined by it.

I won’t let it.


 

Post traduzido para Português:


Olá. chamo-me Leticia e sofro de transtorno de ansiedade generalizada. Mas nem sempre foi assim. Sempre fui uma criança muito feliz, conversava com toda a gente, muito sorridente, muito social, divertida e sonhadora. Eu sempre fui um boa aluna, amei a minha escola desde o primeiro dia. Eu nunca me senti ansiosa - nem sabia a sorte que tinha. Até que tudo mudou. Aos 15 anos, comecei a sentir-me ansiosa. Nervosa. Diariamente. Era cada vez mais difícil estar na escola, embora eu gostasse de estudar. Eu ainda gosto. Eu não me reconheci. Eu lutei diariamente com minhas emoções. até que elas ganharam. Comecei a perder uma aula, duas aulas, um dia inteiro de aulas. Comecei a faltar dias e semanas. Eu não conseguia apanhar o autocarro com as minhas amigas de manhã. Eu gritava e chorava que não queria ir. Hiperventilava até ao colapso mental. E eu, uma rapariga tão trabalhadora e exigente comigo e com meus estudos ... deixei a escola. Como não conseguia escrever o meu nome, não me lembrava das coisas básicas diárias. A ansiedade estava a começar a ter consequências com que eu conseguia lidar. Mexia com todo o meu sistema digestivo, todas as vezes que um episódio de ansiedade começava, a minha visão ficava turva e eu comecei a tremer muito das mãos e perdi a destreza. Eu era completamente dependente de quem me rodeava. então desisti. Estas palavras "eu desisti" pesaram na minha alma e no meu coração durante anos. sabem o que foi mais difícil para mim nesse momento? Não se tratava de olhar no espelho todos os dias e encarar o que estava acontecer comigo, mas sim responder constantemente às pessoas que me perguntavam em que ano eu estava, o que estava a estudar. Tinha que dar a minha resposta cuidadosamente elaborada: "Não estou a estudar agora, porque tenho uma doença que não me permite". As pessoas ficaram horrorizadas e começavam a pensar no pior. O que eles acham que é o pior.

"Então o quetens, querida?" - "Transtorno de ansiedade grave". As suas caras mudaram completamente. Eles deixaram de estar horrorizados e ainda acrescentaram: “Oh, querida, tu precisas sair mais, desanuviar a cabeça. Isso vai passar. ”Eu senti-me tão mal ao ouvir estas palavras. De novo e de novo e de novo. Socializar com pessoas de fora deu-me muita ansiedade, porque eu sabia que inevitavelmente teria que responder a estas perguntas. Além de ter que lidar com a tremenda desilusão que tive de mim mesmo, também tive que lidar com a decepção dos outros.

A ansiedade já estava a impedir-me de ser social, mas agora eu estava cada vez com menos vontade de o ser. Eu sentia-me julgada, apesar de saber que as pessoas não o faziam de propósito. Tinha vergonha de comer áfrente das pessoas, porque, primeiro, não posso ficar mais de uma hora à mesa porque fico muito impaciente e é difícil controlar e esconder minha ansiedade por tanto tempo e porque deixo cair os talheres das minhas mãos e parece que não sei cortar a carne por causa da falta de destreza nas mãos. É difícil sentir-me como uma criança que precisa de ajuda, mas não quero pedir ajuda, porque tenho vergonha.

E assim eu passo os meus dias entre estas dificuldades, pensamentos e emoções selvagens, sem nenhum controle.

Mas deixa-me explicar como esta doença muda o meu dia a dia.. Os meus dias começam tarde, não porque eu sou preguiçosa e quero dormir, mas por causa do meu distúrbio eu sofro de insônia. Não consigo dormir profundamente como a maioria das pessoas, e acordo constantemente, a minha mente nunca para, por mais que eu peça para parar e também sofro de dores no corpo porque estou sempre tensa. Passo os meus dias sem forças para fazer o quer que seja, sem sair de casa, pensando, constantemente pensando na minha vida e no meu futuro. Tendo episódios de ansiedade e tentando lidar com eles. Eu não faço isto de propósito. é inconsciente. A minha cabeça está sempre a trabalhar, pensando em tudo e mais alguma coisa. o que aconteceu, o que pode ou não acontecer. constantemente preocupaa com tudo. TUDO. O TEMPO TODO. Por exemplo, passo 4 dias a pensar que no fim de semana vou sair. Não porque estou animada, mas porque para mim é doloroso. Todo o processo de me vestir, como vamos chegar lá, pensando em quem vai estar lá, sobre o que vamos falar, como vou esconder a minha ansiedade, por quanto tempo vou estar fora da minha casa, a que horas chegarei em casa. CADA HORA do dia, durante quatro dias. isto dá-me muita ansiedade. A minha mente e corpo estão exaustos e doentes quando o fim de semana chega. Na maioria das vezes, é mais fácil não ir. Para me poupar de tudo isto.

Não trabalho nem estudo, por muitas tentativas que já fiz.

Eu já fui contratada. Eu já trabalhei. Mas não por muito. Em alguns empregos, trabalhei tão pouco tempo que não posso considerar colocar meu CV. (o último? 9 dias). Mas o problema é que sou boa no que estou a fazer nesse trabalho. Mas eu simplesmente não consigo continuar. Eu desisto, porque é demais para a minha cabeça e para o meu corpo. Sou excelente em esconder o meu problema até ter um grande ataque de ansiedade e não sair mais de casa. Eu não vou trabalhar. Não vou sair com meus amigos para tomar um café. Não vou sair com meu namorado, não vou sair do portão da casa. Vou ter que mentir, dizendo que estou doente e é por isso que não posso sair. Porque ninguém entende. Não porque eles não querem entender (na maioria das vezes tentam), mas porque apenas aqueles que passam por isso sabem como é. Vamos ser sinceros, não há sintomas visíveis, não há doença. "isso são coisas da tua cabeça. Tu precisa de sair, apanhar ar, relaxar." ; "tu és maluca, estás á procura de atenção". Realmente á procura de atenção? vocês acham que eu quero parecer maluca? Eu tenho uma vida. Eu tenho sonhos e objetivos. Mas tudo isso foi interrompido por 8 anos. Esta doença castiga-me há 8 anos. Isto proíbe-me de viver à 8 anos. Não é por falta de tratamentos. Estive em 3 psicólogos diferentes, psiquiatra, terapeuta não convencional. Tomei muitos medicamentos diferentes, desde comprimidos que me deixam completamente drogada para poder dormir até antidepressivos que me privam de todas as minhas emoções. Se eu já me estava a sentir impotente, agora eu sinto-me vazia. Não sinto nada. Não quero nada. Nem me apetece estar com a pessoa que eu mais amo. Mas o mais difícil ainda é não ser entendido e ser julgado por pessoas que não entendem e não tentam entender. Pessoas que me conhecem, que veem em primeira mão o que eu sofre diariamente. Isso realmente dói. Isso abre uma grande ferida, porque se já nos sentimos mal por ter esta doença, porque não podemos explicar bem o que sentimos, não sabemos por que nos sentimos assim, não sabemos o que podemos fazer para melhorar a situação e as pessoas abrem ainda mais a ferida, gozando, diminuindo o problema, pisando a pouca auto-estima que nos resta. Isso dói...

Imagine que você tem uma doença grave e não sabe e vai ao médico e o médico faz os testes adequados e diagnostica-o com uma doença grave. Muito triste e apreensivo com a reação das pessoas que você mais ama e das que estão ao seu redor, vai lhes contar o que está a acontecer. "Fui ao médico e fui diagnosticado com uma doença grave" e as pessoas que lhe são mais queridas reagem dizendo: "Oh! Tu não tens nada! Isso são coisas que tu pões na tua cabeça! Isso é maluquice, tu está a perder a cabeça" Como se sentiria? Difícil de acreditar, certo? Então, você vai ao médico, faz o teste e ele diz que está doente, mas as pessoas não acreditam! como isso é possível? Bem, este é o caso da maioria das pessoas que sofrem de problemas psicológicos. Porque se não se vê, não existe. Porque se não houver sintomas, não há doença.

Pessoas que costumavam ser próximas de mim disseram-me coisas como: "Ela é maluca! Ela não quer trabalhar! Viver às custas do marido é o que ela quer! Ela é preguiçosa!" chegando ao ponto de dizer ao meu marido que, se ele quiser, pode me deixar porque eles o ajudam. É claro que não falamos mais com essas amostras de pessoas, por razões óbvias. É difícil ouvir e chega a um ponto em que, após tantos anos de sofrimento, uma pessoa não consegue mais engolir. E começamos a bater os pés. Enfrentá-los e não nos deixar ir abaixo. Porque já basta tudo o que passamos todos os dias. É preciso parar!

E assim os dias passam com as pessoas que nos apoiam diariamente. Que não nos cobram por não ter uma vida "normal". Isto coloca um sorriso no nosso rosto quando a única coisa que queremos fazer é chorar. É difícil viver a vida sem saber como será o amanhã. Serei capaz de trabalhar? Sair com meus amigos ou meu marido? E nos dias mais difíceis: sair de casa?

É uma luta diária e não posso desistir. Nunca. Este monstro não vai ganhar. Podes continuar a tirar alguns prazeres da minha vida, mas nunca terás a minha felicidade. Porque a minha felicidade são as pessoas ao meu redor. São as pequenas e grandes coisas que posso alcançar, apesar de achar que não posso. É uma mera caminhada que pensei que não poderia fazer. E vou continuar a lutar, não importa o quanto eu queira desistir. Desistir de tentar resolver o problema. Durante esta luta, quero ajudar as pessoas a entender o que é isto. O que é a ansiedade. O que isso faz a uma pessoa. Para que as pessoas sejam mais compreensivas e evitem certas palavras, certas perguntas e saibam o que dizer e o que fazer.



Esta sou eu

Uma pessoa que sofre de transtorno de ansiedade generalizada, mas não pode ser definida por ele.

Eu não vou deixar.



122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


blogLogo.jpg
bottom of page